Don’t Waste Your Life

I want to share two short stories with you today and afterwards I will explain the aftermath of them both.  They both involve the same principles and have similar endings.  I am sharing these stories today with the hope that they can open up someone’s eyes like the experiences opened up mine.

I was taking an accounting class at Indiana University Southeast.  I hated accounting.  It was a course I had a hard time comprehending.  Even so, I arrived to the final exam and I only needed to score a 52% to pass the class.  A few days later I saw that I scored a 45%.  I had never failed a class before.  As you can imagine, I was mad beyond belief.  “It wasn’t my fault,” I told myself.  I blamed anything and everything other than me.  I blamed it on my professor, the way she taught, and I even convinced myself that I tried my hardest.  The next story is a little more recent.

I graduated school in December 2015 with a Bachelor’s in marketing and management.  I thought I deserved the best when it came to a career after college.  I spent several hours a week applying for jobs that I believed I was qualified for.  Nothing really happened for me.  I was still stuck in basically the same position as when I was in school.  Like the previous story, I did not find fault in myself.  I went to school.  I did all the work I was supposed to do.  I felt entitled to be given a great job with a salary.  I thought I wasted my time getting a degree.  My thinking was that the stupid employers won’t give me a job because I have no experience.  Honestly, I feel stupid just telling these stories.

A lot of us are eager to blame someone or something else when things don’t work out the way we think they are supposed to.  What do we do to change the outcome?  Nothing because outside sources are the reason it happened the way it did.  I would still be nowhere if I kept up that attitude.  Let me tell you something that changed my life.  I learned to take blame.  Eventually, I told myself, “This is my fault!”  I couldn’t honestly tell myself that I was giving everything I had.  Once you accept that fact, it gets much easier to get where you want to be, but you will never get there until you have.  I am not close to where I want to be but I am on the right path.  All this happened because of me but I received the inspiration from someone else.

If you didn’t know, I am a HUGE brand advocate of Eric Thomas.  I referenced him in my wedding vows for goodness sake!  ET changed my life.  He didn’t even just change it career wise but also changed my mentality of how I see and interact with the world.  I started listening to ET and one thing he said really stuck to me.  He said that most people are giving 70% effort in life.  He gave a challenge to give 120% effort for 30 days.  He says if you don’t like than you can stop.  I took that challenge.  I was working at a call center for a hospital at the time.  For 30 days, I arrived at work 2 hours early everyday!  I got some satisfaction being the person who flipped the lights on every morning.  For every minute of those two hours, I read and studied materials about marketing.  After a month of doing that, I became addicted.  I kept coming early.  I kept grinding.  I loved it!  Another two months went by and I received an offer for a marketing job with great pay.  I made it! Or did I?

No, I didn’t make it.  I would be settling if I thought that.  I can’t stop doing what I’m doing.  Every single day I get better.  I still come to work early.  I still am the one flipping on the lights.  I truly believe that if I give 120%, I can do anything.  No, it’s not going to happen overnight, and yes, there are people who are better than me at what I do.  What I lack in skill, I will beat them with my will.  I will not be beaten.  I want you to have this same mindset.  This stuff works.  So let me challenge you with the same challenge ET challenged me with.  Go 120% for 30 days.  See how it feels.

If you are looking for somewhere to start.  Listen to his podcasts for 10 minutes a day.  I would start with “Average Skill, Phenomenal Will”.  Here is his website: http://etinspires.com/

 

Leave a Reply

