What Now?

It has been a hectic past 30 or so days for me.  I hope you know that this is not me complaining but just explaining.  First, I hurt my wrist and had to wear an uncomfortable splint for a couple weeks.  Thankfully it is healed now.  Next, I got the flu a week before my wedding.  Somehow I managed to get over that in a couple days.  Finally, I got married to the love of my life.  For what seems like forever, I was looking forward to the wedding.  Shortly after getting married, I thought to myself, “So…what now?”

I was at the YMCA last week and they have a bulletin board that they post different events, exercises, etc on.  I never really look or read what is on there but I saw a picture with a quote on it that caught my eye. “The Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him most about humanity, answered ‘Man.  Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.  Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health.  And he is anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as is he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.'”  This really made me think about how I am living my life.  There is always something in the future that I want to fast forward to.  Sometimes I forget to enjoy my time in the present.  The last thing I want to do is wake up in 50 years and wonder where the time went.  I don’t want to regret not enjoying my family, my career, or life in the present moment.

If you know anything about me, you know I am always trying to find ways to better myself.  Focusing on the present and less on the future is a new concept for me.  I thought I would create a challenge for myself and I would like you to do it as well.  Let’s take 30 seconds a day to pause and be thankful for what is in our lives in the present and choose to truly enjoy them.  No longer will I be focused on what is going on in the future.  I will live my life in the present so that my future will be great.

Leave a Reply

